Board of Management

The board of management manages the school on behalf of the patron and is accountable to the patron and the Minister for Education. The board must uphold the characteristic spirit (ethos) of the school and is accountable to the patron for so doing.

The principal is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school, including providing guidance and direction to the teachers and other staff of the school and is accountable for that management.

The primary objective of a board of management is to ensure that the school is managed in a manner that provides all of its pupils with the best possible education.

Boards of management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term. The Board of Management serves for a period of four years. All members are volunteers. The Board comprises of eight members: two Patron nominees, two parent nominees, two community nominees, one teacher nominee and the Principal.

Wall decoration in school gardens

A new Board of Management took office on 1st December and will serve to the 30th November 2027.

The new board members are as follows:

Patron Nominees:Doreen Duignan (Chairperson) and Ronan Barry
Parent Nominees:Donna Phelan and Willie Hughes (Treasurer)
Teacher Nominee:Suzanne O’ Hurley
Community Nominees:Paul Toner
Principal:Cora McGorry